Hops

What is hops?

Hops are a "Humulus Lupulus" plant whose flowers – commonly referred to as "cones" – are used in the manufacture of beer alongside malts, yeasts and water in particular. They allow you to keep the beer while bringing different flavors. Without hops, this is not beer but beer.

How does hops grow?

Hops is a perennial vine wrapping around a rack up to 12m high for the larger varieties. It grows between 35 ° and 55 ° parallel, in slightly acidic soils and requires a significant amount of water and sun to feed the large amount of organic matter it will produce.

In the Northern hemisphere, the foot is dormant under the Earth during the winter months. In the spring, young shoots emerge and the most vigorous of them are selected to become the vines producing hops. The vine grows first in height and once its height is reached, it produces the lateral stems that will produce the fruit. The harvest is from the end of August to September.

Ingested, can hops be dangerous to animals?

Accidental ingestions have shown symptoms of poisoning: abnormal respiration, anxiety, palpitations, fever, vomiting and sometimes death if symptoms are not treated quickly.

If in doubt, contact a veterinarian or poison control centre immediately. Cats and dogs are the most affected by these disorders.

Anti-Poison Centers:

  • Angers: 02 41 48 21 21
  • Bordeaux: 05 56 96 40 80
  • Lille: 0800 58 58 58
  • Lyon: 04 72 11 69 11
  • Marseille: 04 91 75 25 25
  • Nancy: 03 83 22 50 50
  • Paris: 01 40 05 48 48
  • Strasbourg: 03 88 37 37 37
  • Toulouse: 05 61 77 74 47

What are alpha acids?

  • Alpha acids have an antibacterial effect essential to the preservation of beer, which has a peculiarity not to alter the yeasts, essential to fermentation.
  • Alpha acids are one of the most important aspects when it comes to brewing; They are mainly the ones who bring bitterness to the beer. To edit a simple rule: the more alpha acids in the beer, the more bitter it will be. And we are talking here of a bitter "hard", one that feels strongly in the back of the tongue and in the bottom of the mouth. They have an important role in the flavors of brew.
  • Alpha acids are not really soluble in water and therefore need to be extracted from hops. They are released when the hops end, hops can remain between 60 and 90mn for the alpha acids to be isomerized and thus released. Isomerization is a chemical process that occurs when the resins contained in the hops boil, creating a slightly acidic environment. This transforms alpha acids into ISO-alpha acids that are soluble in water, thus entering the composition of beer and adding bitterness and, although to a lesser extent, flavors to beer.
  • Hops can contain up to 15% alpha acid. Some will go up to 17%, but it gives an idea. '% AA ' refers to the% of Alpha acids contained in hops. So-called "aromatic" hops generally have less than 5% alpha acid.

SOURCE: Hop variety Handbook, Dan Woodske & growing your own hops, malts, and brewing herbs, John Peragine

What are beta acids?

  • Beta acids are not released at the time of boiling, but during fermentation of the beer, by oxidation. They also add bitterness and change the flavors of beer. Otherwise, the more the smug acids are, the more the taste of beer will evolve as it grows older. For information or recall, and depending on the type of beer and the recipe used, a beer can be stored from a few months to several years.
  • Hops with a high level of smug acids are rather the aromatics, which are put at the end of boiling to prevent the essential oils from evaporating.
  • Hops can contain up to 15% beta acids

SOURCE: Hop variety Handbook, Dan Woodske & growing your own hops, malts, and brewing herbs, John Peragine

What is the International Bitterness Unit (IBU)?

The bitterness of beer is measured in a unit called International Bitterness units (IBUs), which is a weight per million (ppm) of Isohumulone, one of the alpha acids of hops. The higher the rate, the more bitter the beer will be.

Warning: This does not mean that it will not also have strong aromas (nose) or important flavors (tastes)!

When the IBU is around 60-70, it is considered to be high – the most commercial beers are around 16 –, beyond 150, it is a hell of an experience for the palate!

SOURCE: Hop variety Handbook, Dan Woodske & growing your own hops, malts, and brewing herbs, John Peragine

HOPSTORE Products

Why Organic hops?

Because the quality of our environment and the preservation of natural resources are not negotiated, at HOPSTORE we offer only quality hops, having been

Why HOPSTORE does not have French organic hops?

As it is currently structured, the production of organic hops in France is emerging. There are small plots that allow the local breweries and "brewery farms" that produce the hops they use to be fed live. In both cases, hops cannot be found on Hopstore stalls. However, the production of French organic hops is growing and we will be happy to offer it to you as soon as possible. If you have any, do not hesitate to Contact!

Why HOPSTORE only offers pellet hops?

Hopstore's ambition is to expand the range of its products. Eventually, we hope to be able to offer you cones (or leaf hops), extract, etc. The sector is gradually structured, on the side of organic hop producers as consumers – we will do our best to follow these developments.

What are the packages offered by HOPSTORE?

In order to meet the widest needs, Hopstore offers pellets in the following packagings:

100g, 250g, 500g, 1kg, 2.5 kg and 5kg

Is there a minimum order?

100g is the minimum you can buy on Hopstore.

How can I buy organic hops at HOPSTORE?

By ordering directly on-line on the site: go to our Store!

How long can I keep my hops?

Properly stored (protected from air, light and refrigerated space), your hops will be easily kept for 3 years. Beyond that, they can still be used but may have lost their properties, especially aromatic.

It is also possible to store it hermetically in your freezer, taking only what you need, as you are able to.

Why aren't there more varieties on HOPSTORE?

As you know (perhaps), sourcing is a tricky activity regarding organic hops. This is what makes the service we offer you, it is also its main constraint. We are doing our best to continually expand our catalog.

To be informed. E of new arrivals and supplies, come back to see us or more simply, sign up for the Newsletter!

Why are some hops Sold Out?

For three simple reasons:

1/As with all agricultural production – and even more so with organic production methods – production is highly dependent on climatic conditions, some years are better than others;

2/Organic Hop production is developing worldwide but still low to date;

3/It remains difficult to match supply and demand.

Remember to subscribe to the newsletter to be held. E Aware of arrivals and re-supplies!

HOPSTORE Deliveries

How HOPSTORE stores and ships hops?

Hops are sensitive to air and light.

In order to preserve the properties, aromas and flavors, they are kept under vacuum in opaque paper to protect them from oxygen and light, at a constant temperature of 4 °c.

Why are the cartons used for shipments not new?

This is part of the actions we put in place to limit the impact of our activity on the environment. We prefer to reuse cartons in good condition rather than using new cartons. We thus preserve raw materials (those used for the manufacture of cartons), lengthen the life of the products (instead of being destroyed after a single use, the cartons have with HOPSTORE a second life) by limiting thus the Waste production. Everyone can contribute to the preservation of our environment is not it? 🙂

Our FAQ did not answer your question?

The following form is for this, leave us a note:

0

You can type your search here and then press "enter" to start the search

My basket
Your basket will be saved. You will be able to use the generated link to retrieve or share it.
Back My basket
Your shopping cart will be saved with the product images.
Your basket has been sent successfully!

quis, mi, vulputate, dolor ut non sem, leo.

No confinement for hops !

The Organic Hop shop is always open.

We strive to send your hops as soon as possible.

LE HOUBLON

Qu'est-ce que le houblon?

Le houblon est une plante « Humulus Lupulus » dont les fleurs – communément appelés « cônes » – sont utilisés dans la fabrication de la bière aux cotés des malts, levures et de l’eau notamment. Ils permettent de conserver la bière tout en apportant différentes saveurs. sans houblon, il ne s’agit pas de bière mais de cervoise.

Comment le houblon pousse-t-il?

Le houblon est une liane vivace s’enroulant autour d’un support jusqu’à 12m de haut pour les variétés les plus grandes. Il pousse entre les 35° et 55° parallèles, dans des sols légèrement acides et requiert une quantité importante d’eau et de soleil pour alimenter l’importante quantité de matière organique qu’il va produire.

Dans l’hémisphère nord, le pied est en dormance sous la terre pendant les mois d’hiver. Au printemps, de jeunes pousses émergent et les plus vigoureuses d’entre elles sont sélectionnées pour devenir les lianes productrices de houblons. La liane croît d’abord en hauteur et une fois sa hauteur atteinte, elle produit les tiges latérales qui produiront les fruits. La récolte se fait de fin août à septembre.

Ingéré, le houblon peut-il être dangereux pour les animaux?

Des ingestions accidentelles ont montré des symptômes d’empoisonnement: respiration anormale, anxiété, palpitations, fièvre, vomissements et parfois mort si les symptômes ne sont pas traités rapidement.

En cas de doute, contactez immédiatement un vétérinaire ou un centre anti-poison. Les chats et chiens sont les plus concernés par ces troubles.

Centres anti-poison:

  • Angers: 02 41 48 21 21
  • Bordeaux: 05 56 96 40 80
  • Lille: 0800 58 58 58
  • Lyon: 04 72 11 69 11
  • Marseille: 04 91 75 25 25
  • Nancy: 03 83 22 50 50
  • Paris: 01 40 05 48 48
  • Strasbourg: 03 88 37 37 37
  • Toulouse: 05 61 77 74 47

Que sont les acides alpha?

  • Les acides alpha ont un effet antibactérien essentiel à la préservation de la bière, qui ont a particularité de ne pas altérer les levures, essentielles à la fermentation.
  • Les acides alphas sont l’un des aspects les plus importants lorsqu’il s’agit de brasser; ce sont eux principalement eux qui apportent de l’amertume à la bière. Pour éditer une règle simple: plus il y a d’acides alphas dans la bière, plus celle-ci sera amère. Et l’on parle ici d’une amertume « dure », celle que l’on ressent fortement à l’arrière de la langue et dans le fond de la bouche. Ils ont un rôle important concernant les saveurs du brassin.
  • Les acides alpha ne sont pas vraiment solubles dans l’eau et doivent donc être extraits des houblons. Ils sont libérés lorsque le houblon bout, les houblons pouvant rester entre 60 et 90mn pour que les acides alpha soient isomérisés et ainsi libérés. L’isomérisation est un procédé chimique qui se produit lorsque les résines contenues dans les houblons bouillent, ce qui crée un environnement légèrement acide. Cela transforme les acides alpha en acides iso-alpha qui sont eux solubles dans l’eau, entrant ainsi dans la composition de la bière et ajoutant une amertume et, bien que dans une moindre mesure, des saveurs à la bière.
  • Les houblons peuvent contenir jusqu’à 15% d’acides alpha. Certains iront jusqu’17%, mais cela donne une idée. « % AA » fait ainsi référence au % d’Acides Alpha contenu dans un houblon. Les houblons dits « aromatiques » ont généralement moins de 5% d’acides alpha.

SOURCE: Hop Variety Handbook, Dan Woodske & Growing your own hops, malts, and brewing herbs, John Peragine

Que sont les acides beta?

  • Les acides beta ne sont pas libérés au moment de l’ébullition, mais lors de la fermentation de la bière, par oxydation. Ils ajoutent également de l’amertume et modifient les saveurs de la bière. Dit autrement, plus les acides béat sont importants, plus le goût de la bière va évoluer au fur et à mesure de son vieillissement. Pour information ou rappel, et en fonction du type de bière et de la recette utilisée, une bière peut se conserver de quelques mois à plusieurs années.
  • Les houblons avec un fort niveau d’acides béat sont plutôt les aromatiques, que l’on met en fin d’ébullition pour éviter que les huiles essentielles ne s’évaporent.
  • Les houblons peuvent contenir jusqu’à 15% d’acides beta

SOURCE: Hop Variety Handbook, Dan Woodske & Growing your own hops, malts, and brewing herbs, John Peragine

Qu'est-ce que l'International Bitterness Unit (IBU)?

L’amertume de la bière se mesure dans une unité appelée International Bitterness Units (IBUs), qui est un poids par million (ppm) d’isohumulone, l’un des acides alpha du houblon. Plus le taux est élevé, plus la bière sera amère.

ATTENTION: cela ne signifie pas qu’elle n’aura pas également de forts arômes (nez) ou d’importantes saveurs (goûts)!

Lorsque l’IBU est autour de 60-70, on considère que c’est élevé – les bières les plus commerciales sont autour de 16 -, au delà de 150, c’est une sacrée expérience pour le palais!

SOURCE: Hop Variety Handbook, Dan Woodske & Growing your own hops, malts, and brewing herbs, John Peragine

LES PRODUITS HOPSTORE

Pourquoi du houblon biologique?

Parce que la qualité de notre environnement et la préservation des ressources naturelles ne se négocient pas, chez HOPSTORE nous ne vous proposons que des houblons de qualité, ayant été

Pourquoi HOPSTORE n'a pas de houblon bio français?

Tel qu’elle est actuellement structurée, la production de houblon bio en France est émergente. Il existe de petites parcelles qui permettent d’alimenter en direct les brasseries locales et des « fermes-brasseries » qui produisent les houblons qu’elles utilisent. Dans ces deux cas, les houblons ne peuvent se retrouver sur les étals d’Hopstore. Cela étant, la production de houblons biologiques français se développe et nous serons ravis de vous en proposer dès que cela sera possible. Si vous en avez, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter!

Pourquoi HOPSTORE ne propose que du houblon en pellets?

Hopstore a pour ambition d’élargir la gamme de ses produits. A terme, nous espérons pouvoir vous proposer des cônes (ou leaf hops), de l’extrait, etc. La filière se structure peu à peu, du côté des producteurs de houblons bio comme des consommateurs – nous ferons au mieux pour suivre ces évolutions.

Quels sont les conditionnements proposés par HOPSTORE?

Afin de répondre aux plus larges besoins, Hopstore propose les pellets dans les conditionnements suivants:

100g, 250g, 500g, 1kg, 2,5kg et 5kg

Y'a-t-il un minimum de commande?

100g est le minimum que vous puissiez acheter sur Hopstore.

Comment puis-je acheter le houblon bio à HOPSTORE?

En commandant directement en ligne sur le site: rendez-vous dans notre magasin!

Combien de temps puis-je conserver mon houblon?

Convenablement stocké (à l’abri de l’air, de la lumière et dans un espace réfrigéré), vos houblons se garderont aisément pendant 3 ans. Au delà, ils pourront toujours être utilisés mais pourront avoir perdu de leurs propriétés, notamment aromatiques.

Il vous est également possible de le stocker hermétiquement dans votre congélateur, en ne prélevant que ce dont vous avez besoin, au fur et à mesure.

Pourquoi n'y-a-t-il pas plus de variétés sur HOPSTORE?

Comme vous le savez (peut-être), le sourcing est une activité délicate concernant le houblon biologique. C’est ce qui fait l’intérêt du service que nous vous proposons, c’est aussi sa principale contrainte. Nous faisons de notre mieux pour continuellement élargir notre catalogue.

Pour être informé.e des nouvelles arrivées et approvisionnements, revenez nous voir ou plus simplement, inscrivez-vous à la Newsletter!

Pourquoi certains houblons sont-ils Sold Out?

Pour trois raisons simples:

1/ comme toute production agricole – et à plus forte raison encore avec des méthodes de production biologiques – la production est très dépendante des conditions climatiques, certaines années sont meilleures que d’autres;

2/ la production de houblon biologique est en développement partout dans le monde mais encore faible à ce jour;

3/ il reste difficile de faire correspondre l’offre et la demande.

Pensez à vous inscrire à la newsletter pour être tenu.e au courant des arrivées et ré-approvisionnements!

LES LIVRAISONS HOPSTORE

Comment HOPSTORE stocke et expédie le houblon?

Le houblon est sensible à l’air et à la lumière.

Afin d’en conserver les propriétés, arômes et saveurs, ils sont conservés sous vide dans du papier opaque afin de les protéger de l’oxygène et la lumière, à une température constante de 4°C.

Pourquoi les cartons utilisés pour les expéditions ne sont pas neufs?

Cela fait partie des actions que nous mettons en place pour limiter l’impact de notre activité sur l’environnement. Nous préférons réutiliser des cartons en bon état plutôt que d’utiliser des cartons neufs. Nous préservons ainsi des matières premières (celles utilisées pour la fabrication des cartons), allongeons la durée des vie des produits (au lieu d’être détruits après une seule utilisation, les cartons ont avec HOPSTORE une seconde vie) en limitant ainsi la production de déchets. Tout le monde peut contribuer à la préservation de notre environnement n’est-ce-pas? 🙂

Notre FAQ n’a pas répondu à votre question?

Le formulaire ci-après est fait pour ça, laissez-nous un mot:

0

Vous pouvez taper votre recherche ici puis presser "Entrer" pour lancer la recherche

dapibus commodo fringilla libero. Phasellus quis sed tristique lectus dolor quis,