HOPSTORE what is it?

Hopstore, a contraction of Hop (hops in English) and Store, is a company born in 2017 in South Burgundy.

This is the story ofa couple, among many others, who wanted to leave the city to (re)find another quality of life, in the countryside.

We settled in a small village in Saône-et-Loire in 2015. Since then, we have been looking for a reconversion that suits us. After several projects, each on our own, we decided to focus our efforts on Hopstore.

There are several reasons for this.

First of all, it's a project that makes sense. Helping brewers to find the hops they need. It is also to help a sector in need of derogations to find solutions to continue to propose organic beers (and Nature et Progrès).

Secondly, it is a global project. Hop producers are found all over the world. Each one has its own terroir, its own endemic varieties, its own aromatic particularities. Hops are like the spice of beer, and we like the idea of being explorers in search of spices. Especially if the hop we're looking for is a few miles away...

It is an extraordinary plant. To our knowledge, there are no contraindications to the use of this plant. Its applications are renewed and invented every day.

Finally, it is a project that allows us to work and live in the country. To work together. To see our daughter grow up. To meet new people and share good times. And that's the most important thing in life, isn't it?

HOPSTORE is who?

Jean-Sébastien (JS)

Sales Manager - Associate
Initially employed in an IT company for 8 years. Since 2015, JS has developed a wide range of skills.

By creating a concierge platform for local products and services to start with.

Secondly, by supporting local authorities in their digital transformation.

Finally, by producing promotional photos and videos.

In parallel to his "digital" missions, JS has worked for a GAEC of Biodynamic producers and an organic brewery.

It is in this context that the idea of working with organic hops was born.

JS joined Hopstore at the end of 2019 to bring his interpersonal and communication skills.

And the rest of the time... he likes to meet up with friends to have a good time, talk about everything and especially... nothing, ride his bike (but not too much), run (but not too much), mow the lawn and watch the fire with his feet in the grass.

Gaëlle

Administrative Assistant
As for her studies, if there had been opportunities with a research master's degree in sociology, she would have liked to shake up certain prejudices that blacken the idealistic picture of living well together.

Eventually, she chose to distribute some joie de vivre on a more local level. In 2014 she opened a small rural complex called Aux petits Soins, in which she set up a small grocery store (which unfortunately closed three years later for lack of customers). But nothing serious, because having several strings to her bow, in the same time she organizes several times a month cultural festivities (concerts, improvisation theater, exhibitions ...), evenings where you can taste on the spot a friendly and creative cuisine, because donning the apron is one of his greatest passions. All this is complemented by a gîte, room, table d'hôtes and catering activity, enough to keep you busy all year round, even in this small isolated village of Buffières.

With a taste for quality and caring for her customers, she has developed her vegetable garden over the years to be able to pride herself on producing her organic vegetables from seed to plate.

She joins Hopstore with pleasure, as she has followed the project from the first idea to today and is very proud of the path taken by her friends. She has a lot of experience in the commercial, administrative and logistical fields, the most telling example of which is her experience within the Terre d'Alliance group (a large agricultural cooperative). She will help Jean-Sébastien and Leïa in these different areas.

On the personal side, she has a joyful and curious little girl, whom she enjoys to the full, and a sweetheart who is just as passionate about cooking and market gardening, and who has a more than serious education in the field, and who supports her and helps her to develop her main activity.

When she has some time left, she fills her greenhouse with seedlings, flower and shrub cuttings of all kinds, makes crazy collages, supposedly plays sports like everyone else, is a serial fan, a film buff, a music lover, etc... She reads in bed and enjoys the fresh air and her friends over good beer!

Leïa

CEO - Founder
A self-taught entrepreneur since her doctorate in 2012, Leïa has long worked on the theme of industrial ecology. Two terms that are a priori antinomic and that give an idea of the challenge she had to take up: to make industrialists aware of the need to work in an ecosystem to limit their impact on the environment. She has thus travelled the territory to meet, convince, mobilize, encourage, accompany and facilitate the implementation of inter-company synergies.

Then, a certain routine added to a lack of concreteness got the better of his motivation.

Hops crossed her path a bit by chance in 2017 and it was love at first sight. She continues her efforts to connect people but this time between organic hops she's going to unearth and brewers 😉 A great new challenge!

The rest of the time, well...she tells stories to her 5 year old weasel; reads books on energies, the Universe and the resources we all have within us; plays with water and brushes; sows seeds, plants trees, shrubs, flowers of all kinds; scrolls on Insta ( #personnenestparfait ), sings like a pro in the car, Yog' and walks in the fresh air.

HOPSTORE is where?

Hopstore is located in the countryside of South Burgundy, 30 minutes from Macon, 1 hour from Lyon, 2 hours from Dijon and Geneva.

Networks and contact

HOPSTORE c'est quoi ?

Hopstore, contraction de Hop (houblon en anglais) et Store, est une entreprise née en 2017 en Sud Bourgogne.

C’est l’histoire d’un couple, parmi tant d’autres, qui a souhaité quitter la ville pour (re)trouver une autre qualité de vie, à la campagne.

Nous avons posé nos valises dans un petit village de Saône-et-Loire en 2015. Dès lors, nous avons cherché une reconversion qui nous ressemble. Après plusieurs projets, chacun de notre côté, nous avons décidé de concentrer nos efforts sur Hopstore.

Et ce pour plusieurs raisons.

D’abord c’est un projet qui a du sens. Aider les brasseurs à trouver les houblons dont ils ont besoin. C’est aussi aider une filière en mal de dérogations à trouver des solutions pour continuer à proposer des bières Bio (et Nature et Progrès).

Ensuite, c’est un projet global. Les producteurs de houblons se trouvent sur l’ensemble du globe. Chacun son terroir, ses variétés endémiques, ses particularités aromatiques. Le houblon est un peu l’épice de la bière, et, l’idée d’être des explorateurs en quêtes d’épices n’est pas pour nous déplaire. Surtout si le houblon que l’on cherche se trouve à quelques kilomètres…

C’est une plante extraordinaire. Il n’existe pas, à notre connaissance, de contre-indications à l’usage de cette plante. Ses applications se renouvèlent et s’inventent tous les jours.

Enfin, c’est un projet qui nous permet de travailler et vivre à la campagne. De travailler ensemble. De voir grandir notre fille. De faire de belles rencontres et de partager de bons moments. Et c’est bien ça le plus important dans la vie, non ?

HOPSTORE c'est qui ?

Jean-Sébastien (JS)

Responsable des ventes - Associé
D’abord salarié d’une entreprise en informatique pendant 8 ans. JS a développé depuis 2015 des compétences très variées.

Par la création d’une plateforme de conciergerie de produits et services locaux pour commencer.

Ensuite par l’accompagnement de collectivités dans leurs mutations numériques.

Enfin par la production de photos et vidéos promotionnelles.

En parallèle de ses missions « digitales », JS a travaillé pour un GAEC de producteurs en Biodynamie et une brasserie bio.

C’est dans ce contexte qu’est née l’idée de travailler avec du houblon bio.

JS a rejoint Hopstore fin 2019 pour apporter son savoir-faire relationnel et ses compétences en communication.

Et le reste du temps… il aime retrouver des potes pour passer du bon temps, parler de tout et surtout… de rien, faire du vélo (mais pas trop), courir (mais pas trop), tondre la pelouse et regarder le feu les pieds dans l’herbe.

Gaëlle

Assistante administrative
Côté études, si débouchés il y avait eu avec un master recherche en sociologie, elle aurait aimé bousculer certains préjugés qui noircissent le tableau idéaliste du bien vivre ensemble.

Finalement, elle a choisi de distribuer un peu de joie de vivre à un niveau plus local. En 2014 elle ouvre un petit complexe rural nommé Aux petits Soins, dans lequel elle installe une petite épicerie (qui fermera malheureusement trois ans plus tard faute de clientèle). Mais rien de grave, car ayant plusieurs cordes à son arc, dans le même temps elle organise plusieurs fois par mois des festivités culturelles (concerts, théâtre d’improvisation, expositions…), soirées où l’on peut déguster sur place une cuisine conviviale et créative, car enfiler le tablier est l’une de ses plus grandes passions. Le tout complété par une activité de gîte, chambre, table d’hôtes et traiteur, de quoi s’occuper tout au long de l’année, même dans ce petit village isolé qu’est Buffières.

Ayant le goût de la qualité et de soigner sa clientèle, elle développe au fil des ans son potager pour pouvoir se targuer de produire ses légumes bio de la graine à l’assiette.

Elle rejoint Hopstore avec plaisir, car elle a suivi le projet du premier balbutiement d’idée à aujourd’hui et est très fière du chemin parcouru par ses amis. Forte de nombreuses expériences dans le domaine commercial, administratif et logistique, dont l’exemple le plus parlant pour ce qui nous concerne, sera son expérience au sein du groupe Terre d’Alliance (Grande Coopérative Agricole Céréalière), elle va soulager Jean-Sébastien et Leïa sur ces différents pôles.

Coté personnel, une petite fille joyeuse et curieuse dont elle profite pleinement et un chéri tout autant passionné de cuisine et de maraichage, doté d’une formation plus que sérieuse en la matière, qui la soutient et l’aide à développer son activité principale.

Quand il lui reste du temps, elle remplit sa serre de semis, boutures de fleurs et arbustes en tous genres, confectionne des collages farfelus, fait soi-disant du sport comme tout le monde, sérievore, cinéphile, musique etc… Bouquine au lit et profite du grand air et de ses amis AUTOUR DE BONNES BIERES !

Leïa

PDG - Fondatrice
Entrepreneuse autodidacte depuis son doctorat en 2012, Leïa a longtemps travaillée sur la thématique de l’écologie industrielle. Deux termes a priori antinomiques qui donnent une idée du défi qu’elle a du relever : Faire prendre conscience aux industriels de la nécessité de travailler en écosystème pour limiter leur impact sur l’environnement. Elle a ainsi arpenté le territoire pour rencontrer, convaincre, mobiliser, encourager, accompagner, faciliter la mise en place de synergies interentreprises.

Puis, une certaine routine ajoutée d’un manque de concret ont eu raison de sa motivation.

Le houblon croise sa route un peu par hasard en 2017 et c’est le coup de foudre. Elle continue ses efforts de mise en relation mais cette fois entre des houblons bio qu’elle va dénicher et des brasseurs 😉 Un nouveau défi de taille !

Le reste du temps et bien…elle raconte des histoires à sa belette de 5 ans ; lit des bouquins sur les énergies, l’Univers et les ressources que l’on a en chacun de nous ; fait mumuse avec de l’eau et des pinceaux ; fait des semis, plante des arbres, arbustes, fleurs en tout genre ; scroll sur Insta ( #personnenestparfait ), chante comme une pro en voiture, Yog’ et se promène au grand air.

HOPSTORE c'est où ?

Hopstore est installé dans la campagne du Sud Bourgogne à 30mn de Mâcon, 1h de Lyon, 2H de Dijon et Genève.

Réseaux et contact